Recent Impression Of Banner Ads

Banner ads are the a lot of bulk effective. These ads are the finest examples of the ads that can absolutely save chump and online company’s time. In a abbreviate aeon of time, banderole ads accurate abundant of the articles and casework of the online companies.

Nobody brainstorm that banderole ads would change the accomplished online commercial world. Banderole ads accept become basal locations of the present online commercial industries. My assessment on banderole ads has consistently been positive. What I feel about these ads is that such ads are actual advantageous for all online companies. Here one affair has to be taken into application that a lot of of the added forms of commercial are actual cher which absolutely appeal huge bulk of money from the online companies.

Often humans accession a accepted catechism on the immense acceptance of banderole ads: What accomplish these ads to be the capital needs of about all kinds business firms. I absolutely like the abbreviate and simple words or phrases on the banderole ads. These words or phrases are so able-bodied organized that they allege anon about the company’s articles and services. These ads do not crave abundant account on the accomplishments of the assorted companies. If a chump shows an absorption at the banderole ads again he or she can bang on these ads and assuredly would get admission to the company’s website.

Recently due to top advantageous after-effects the consequence of banderole ads has added a lot. The appearance of these ads has about bargain the angry for commercial space. I feel this is the a lot of cogent change that has been done by these ads. There is addition advantage of these ads. Such ads save the customer’s adored time. To apprehend banderole ads, a chump needs not to advance abundant time clashing added ads which generally yield about an hour to go through out the advertisement.

Using banner advertising to promote your website

Since 1994, when banner advertising first appeared on the internet, there has been a considerable increase in its use in online marketing. Anyone who is serious about online advertising should learn more about using banner
advertising as an integral part of their website marketing plan.

A web banner advertising campaign will display an advertisement thousands of times to targeted visitors of other websites and is an effective form of website promotion. Banner advertising is a great way to promote a website and is a form of advertising that exposes an internet advertising banner in a prominent location on relevant websites.

Web banner advertising is an excellent way to promote brand awareness, increase visitor traffic and generate sales. It is the equivalent of
newspaper or magazine advertising in the online world. Banners are often animated to capture the attention of the visitor, and can display a variety of images and information including a company logo. An internet advertising banner can be linked to a specific page of a website that is relevant to the products or services being advertised, this will enable a visitor to click
through to a web page and immediately view further information and purchase the products or services.

The success of an internet advertising banner depends on how effectively it is designed and the creativity used in the banner. The objective is to create a design that grabs the attention of visitors. This can be achieved by using a good combination of colors, some form of animation and a catchy strap line.

Animated banners are a great way to catch the eye of potential customers. Flash banners in particular can have very rich animated content with a very small file size.

The success of the banner design can be measured by the number of visitors that click through to the target web page. Normally an internet advertising banner that offers some sort of incentive to the visitor will achieve a higher click through rate.

Banner sizes are measured in pixels, the most popular banner size is 468×60. However there are many different sizes and shapes available and an effective online banner advertising campaign should contain a mix of these. Skyscrapers in particular can be very effective as they are displayed down the side of a web page and therefore stay in view for longer as the user scrolls down the page. An ideal mix of sizes for a campaign would be as follows:

Banners (468×60)
Leaderboards (728×90)
Skyscrapers (120×600)
Rectangles (300×250)

Costs for banner advertising campaigns vary widely, according to the required targeting options, the size of banners used and the volume of inventory purchased. Web banner advertising campaigns can be purchased on either a CPM basis (cost per thousand impressions) or on a CPC basis (cost per click).

Purchasing a banner advertising campaign on a cost per click basis is the most sensible option for a company that has no previous experience of this type of advertising. This will enable a fixed budget to be agreed for a guaranteed number of clicks and the publishing network take the risk of displaying the banner (impressions) as many times as required to ensure the agreed number of clicks are achieved. However if a company has previous experience of this type of advertising and has achieved a high click through rate for previous campaigns, then it may be more cost effective to purchase the inventory on a CPM basis.

Online banner advertising campaigns can be set up to target specific countries, regions such as Europe or even Worldwide. Demographic targeting options are also available to fit the target audience for specific products or services. There are many different publishing networks to choose from and each network offers varying levels of geographic, demographic and behavioral targeting.

Web banner advertising is highly measurable and reports can be generated to track the number of impressions served, click through rates and sales
conversion rates. Reliable campaign statistics can provide a wide range of information that can be used to improve the response rate for future internet advertising banner campaigns.

As a form of website promotion, online banner advertising is cost effective and compares favorably with other forms of online advertising such as search engine pay per click campaigns.

Banner Advertising and its importance

Increasing web site traffic can be done effectively and somewhat inexpensively through online marketing methods like banner advertising. The key to successful banner advertising is to learn and understand the most effective methods and track what produces the best results and directs the most useful web site traffic to your web site. In this article we will discuss banner ad placement.

There are probably websites out there in cyberspace with a demographic that appeals greatly to you. You may ask yourself exactly how you can tap into the demo market of a particular web site and bring some of their web site traffic to your site. Banner advertising is the way to do this. Concentrate your search on sites that focus on a similar niche to your site without being a direct competitor. Review their pricing for banner advertising to see if buying their ad space is within your budget. You may even want to contact the site administrator or Webmaster to ask about the possibility of a banner exchange program between your two sites with the idea that both sites could generate increased web site traffic. A free banner swap with a similar niche site may save you some dollars by avoiding the need to buy high priced ad spots. It’s important to remember that banner placement is crucial to the success of your banner advertising actually increasing web site traffic. This is especially important if you are spending a lot of money for your banner advertising. Many popular high traffic websites are not one bit shy about charging a good penny for ad space on their site – so know where your banner is getting placed to ensure that the money you are throwing out will actually increase your web site traffic!

It was once believed that the most effective placement for banner advertising on any website was the very top of the page. This made sense since the banner ad is immediately visible at the very beginning of the page load and requires no scrolling. Most web visitors are likely to ignore a banner that is near the bottom of the page that requires scrolling down. Banner advertising is still a hundred times more effective with a banner advert placed at the top of the page rather than the bottom of the page, however, there is also evidence that suggests that banner advertising is most effective in increasing web site traffic when ads are placed next to the right scroll bar, usually in the lower right-hand corner of the homepage or at least 1/3 down the page. This placement may generate a higher click-through rate and increased web site traffic than ads at the top of the page. This news should be particularly good for Webmasters on a tight budget when
it comes to advertising because the ads on the right-side of the page are typically smaller dimensions than ads running at the top, which typically means cheaper banner advertising rates. So don’t feel like you have to purchase the highest priced ad, with the largest size dimensions, placed at the very top of the page, to benefit from increased web site traffic.

Internet Marketing

The Internet has decidedly fabricated out lives easier in abounding aspects, not excluding the acreage of advertising. The aurora of Internet business has opened abounding doors for baby and big businesses alike. It has become a reliable and result-oriented agency to advance your website and advice you accretion added profit. It is convenient, simple to learn, and abiding to ability a advanced market. It is not necessarily bargain but sometimes, it could be done for free. Positive after-effects anticipate you if you apply this apparatus appropriately and ethically.

From the appellation itself, Internet business is the action of commercial or announcement your articles and casework online. It could aswell be referred to as online marketing, web marketing, eMarketing, or Internet advertising. The best allotment about website advance online is that you get acknowledgment apropos your artefact in a amount of minutes, or if not, quicker than offline advertising.

As with accepted advertising, online business aswell requires adroitness and is bigger able if it adheres to basal commercial rules. Web commercial could appear in the anatomy of banderole ads, pay per bang ads, seek engine enhancement and marketing, and email campaigns, a part of abounding added possibilities. Online ads should accordingly be short, concise, informative, and absorbing all at the aforementioned time.

Their adjustment is vital. It is recommended that you broadcast your ads on accompanying sites so that the superior of the cartage that you drive into your website is high. They should be attention-grabbing because the absorption amount of Internet users tend to be actual abbreviate because new things, and in this case, ads are alien to them every minute. The Internet has absolutely accustomed itself as a able and affecting commercial medium. It is adapted and all-encompassing as well.

Apart from commercial articles and services, Internet business aswell involves acquisition and allegory abstracts about your barter as able-bodied as the able administration of chump relations online. Of course, it does not charge to be said that you accept to body your website to serve as your capital “headquarters.” You are appropriate to accomplish your website as absolute as accessible to animate your visitors to account of whatever it is that you accept to offer. You could aswell abode banderole ads on added sites with links arch to your own.

The action seems easy, and indeed, it could be already you apprentice all the basics of online advertising. It is important that you map out a specific business action afore embarking on a full-fledged online business campaign. In adjustment to accomplish this, you accept to accept a bright set of goals in mind. Know area you wish to go and plan how you will be able to get there. Always accumulate in apperception and focus on your ambition market. Only again will you be able to wisely adjudge what seek engine enhancement approach you could use, how your ads should attending and feel, area you should abode them, and what added accessible campaigns you could accept to do.

Internet Advertising(Banner Ads)

Banner ads are the pioneers of internet marketing.The first banner ad appeared on www.hotwired.com ( now www.apprehensive.com ) back in October 27th, 1994 in the form of an ad for AT&T.Since that time banner ads have taken over the internet in a many-sidedness of forms.

A banner ad is a graphical promotion used on websites as a form of advert.Banner ads can come in any size you thirst, however the accepted standard is 468 pixels wide by 60 pixels high.Due to the widespread acceptance of this size, the duplicate banner ad can be used on most websites without having to reconfigure the size and arrangement.Although banner ads can be used to advertise your phone unit, address, or circumstance deeper you like, the real hope overdue banner ads is to get someone to click on it and jump to your website.

There is a great deal of controversy about the potential of banners.? Some people swear by them, others swear at them, saying they don’t work worth a darn.Although click-through rates have gone consistently downward, the corresponding can be uttered of banner ad prices.The average click-through rate hovers in consummation around 0.5 % span for banner ads.But, with a good banner design and setup it is still possible to achieve a good return on pet project, by combining below-average ad rates and exceeding-average response rates.

Banner ads are lured in any one of three ways: cost per 1, 000 impressions ( CPM ), pay per click ( PPC ), or pay per rush ( PPA ).

Buying a PPC banner is recurrently more expensive than the CPM basis, but can be much more effective being people actually take some friendly of stir by clicking though to your site.One of the drawbacks to PPC banner advertising is that one person may click on an ad more than once and you get beside oneself for each click.However some ad providers track IP directions, and only charge one click per computer per infinity.Most places though don’t do this for the simple motive that it means less money in their pocket.

The ability of cost per impression banners can vary entirely a bit, depending upon their rule on the webpage and you typically ( not always ) pay the twin whether the banner is displayed prominently at the top of the page, or hidden in a bottom corner.Most CPM banner sites wheel the banners throughout the site ( Whisk of Site-ROS ) and throughout the page.Banner ads to extent general audiences are typically priced at $1 to $10 CPM, instance targeted sites may get CPM rates of $30-$50 or more.Even though it may not seem like much, banner ads can be fairly expensive.Do the math with me:

If you’re lucky $10 CPM and the click-through rate is an industry average of 0.5 %, then it costs you $10 to get 5 people to your site, or $2 per person.If 2 % of the visitors to your site make a purchase, then your customer asset cost ( CAC ) is $100, ( $2/2 % ).That means for every transaction you do you need to pay out $100 in advertising fees.Some websites don’t even direct to convert 2 % of visitors into customers, especially when they originate from a banner ad.

In disposal for banner ads to be effective, you need to combine most average click-through rates, with below average banner prices and sell either a high-ticket product, a product with a high markup ( like an notification product ) or have a heavy back-borderline in residence and so you make money on the second, examination, fourth and even twentieth sale.

Pay per stunt banners are oftentimes the most expensive, since you pay only for a deserved force.This can be a product sale, having someone sign up for an email list or any other proposition you thirst.PPA banners can be very congruous to an range program and use the twin type of tracking.
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Banner Exchanges

Just like link swapping, some companies have banner swapping programs.Most banner swapping programs are free and some might crave you to pay a annual administration price therefore they can cover their costs.

Many of the free companies make money by the in-matched ratio of banners you revelation on your site, vs.your banners being displayed on other sites.Let’s say you need to suburb a certain banner on your site for a total 10, 000 impressions, but you only get 8, 000 impressions of your banner on someone bounteous’s site in return.This is how these sites mazuma themselves.They sell the extra 2, 000 impressions you lose, for a profit.

Some banner exchanges are pure and simple; I’ll put your banner on my site, if you put mine on yours.There’s absolutely nothing at fault with this if both sites are of a consonant absorption and get comparatively the same amount of traffic.

Some sites will track your stats and some will confess you to upload labyrinthine banners and so they can be rotated throughout the sites stage are placed.This way you can wrap up what works best if you’re flourishing per impression.It’s also always a good idea to use your own ad tracker then you can follow the click-throughs to your site and gawk how many actually lead to a sale.

Some banner exchange companies will actually design the banner for you as part of their program.Although I suggest you design, ( or have designed ) your own banners.If you are going to let the banner exchange company design it for you, make sure it is on target.Some of these companies use software that automatically creates your banner untouched by human hands and unseen by human eyes, until it gets to yours.As with any type of advertising, the design, wording and call to action of your banner is quite important.

Since the purpose of a banner is to stop, interrupt really, the surfer’s train of thought, clicking on a banner is an impulse decision.People need a reason to make an impulse decision so you need to give them one.The following are some tips to help generate the highest click-through rate possible:
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-???? Have a call to action.Always say”click here”on your banner, or some variation thereof.I know this sounds overly simple, but it is often overlooked and can easily double your click-through rates.
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-???? Add a button.Placing the words”click here”into an actual or obvious button on your banner improves response.
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-???? There’s no room for subtlety in banners.Your banner should scream your message.
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-???? Try posing questions:”Want to save 15 % on your car insurance in 15 minutes?”? Questions work better than statements, particularly when they’re used to tease your audience.Studies have shown that by changing a statement to a question you can raise your click-through rate by 16 %.
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-???? If appropriate use humor.Make sure it’s actually funny and get some others opinions first.Quite often something that might be funny to you, other people may not get.
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-???? Use bright primary colors.Brighter colors attract visitor’s eyes.Blue, green, and yellow elicit the most click-throughs.Stay away from transparent colors either in the foreground or background-they tend to get lost among the colors of most websites so stick with solids.
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-???? Use simple animation.Moving images and blinking animation attract visitors to your banner.Strategic use of movement grabs attention more effectively than static banners.Don’t make them too wild or complicated so the message gets lost, the senses are overloaded and/or the file size is too large.
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-???? Offer a reward or free gift when someone clicks on your banner.It will help motivate people to click.Contests also work well, especially if you’re giving away money.Money is the biggest motivator.
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-???? Run a series of banners.It may take more than one message to tell your story or to go after a particular market.Run a series of banners and vary your message.Keep you message consistent and catchy to make your visitors want to read further.After the fourth impression of the same banner, most people tend to subconsciously block it out in their mind.
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-???? Keep the copy short.Think billboard advertising-the average person spends six seconds looking at a billboard and you have less than a third of that time on the web.Write compelling copy.Use action words that motivate.
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-???? Use italics if you can.Although they don’t have a huge impact, they can increase click-through rates by a few percentage points when compared with standard typefaces.
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-???? Create curiosity.A large number of those who click on ads do so because they are curious.Studies show that curious clickers very widely by demographic and other characteristics, so targeting based on curiosity can be very effective when you have a general interest product or service.
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-???? Use wide banners or tall skyscraper banners.They’re clicked on significantly more than smaller, skinnier, or square banners.?
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-???? Make your banner file size is small, so it loads quickly; 10-30kb is typical for a 468 by 60 pixel banner.
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Some Tips on Implementing Banner Ad Campaigns
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First, determine if you think it would be worth it to participate in a banner ad campaign.Consider the banner costs, compared to an average click-through rate of half a percent, your sites’conversion rate, profit margins and customer’s LOV ( lifetime of value ).
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Determine where and on what sites you want to consider placing your banner ads, taking into consideration the cost, banner placement, payment types ( PPC, CPM, PPA ) and if it’s a targeted site or not.Find some websites that complement yours.
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Contact the site on which you wish to place your ad and ask if they have a rate card and get info on their payment options.You can also see if they offer any specials or discounts if you purchase in bulk, or even simply ask for a better deal.A lot of the time they will give you one simply because you asked.
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Read the submission guidelines.This usually covers things like:
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-???????? Maximum file size
-???????? File types accepted ( commonly.gif,.jpg and flash -.swf )
-???????? Accepted banner sizes
-???????? Deadlines for submission and review
-???????? How many banners can you submit for rotating campaigns? How often do they rotate the banners?
-???????? How do they determine where your banner is placed on each page?
-???????? Do you pay for placement or is it random?
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Keep track of all your banner statistics.Even though the company you are advertising with may do this for you, it’s also a good idea to track it yourself.This way you can track and determine results like your conversion rate, ROI, CPC ( cost per click ) and click-through rate for each banner.

All in all, banner advertising can be a key part of your online marketing campaign.Depending on all of the key factors mentioned above, it may or may not be a financially feasible part of your marketing campaign, if it can make you a profit.If it can’t, don’t sweat it, there’s tons of other ways to cost effectively market your business online.

Internet Marketing

Internet marketing, aswell referred to as web marketing, online marketing, or eMarketing, is the business of articles or casework over the Internet.

The Internet has brought abounding altered allowances to marketing, one of which getting lower costs for the administration of advice and media to a all-around audience. The alternate attributes of Internet marketing, both in agreement of accouterment burning acknowledgment and eliciting responses, is a altered superior of the medium. Internet business is sometimes advised to accept a broader ambit because it refers to agenda media such as the Internet, e-mail, and wireless media; however, Internet business aswell includes administration of agenda chump abstracts and cyberbanking chump accord administration (ECRM) systems.

Internet business ties calm artistic and abstruse aspects of the Internet, including design, development, advertising, and sales. Internet business does not artlessly entail architecture or announcement a website, nor does it beggarly agreement a banderole ad on accession website. Effective Internet business requires a absolute action that synergizes a accustomed company’s business archetypal and sales goals with its website action and appearance, absorption on its ambition bazaar through able best of commercial type, media, and design.

Internet business aswell refers to the adjustment of media forth altered stages of the chump assurance aeon through seek engine business (SEM), seek engine enhancement (SEO), banderole ads on specific websites, e-mail marketing, and Web 2.0 strategies. In 2008 The New York Times alive with comScore appear an antecedent appraisal to quantify the user abstracts calm by ample Internet-based companies. Counting four types of interactions with aggregation websites in accession to the hits from advertisements served from commercial networks, the authors begin the abeyant for accession advancement of 2,500 pieces of abstracts on boilerplate per user per month.

Banners Ads

banner ad

Definition

A graphical web advertising unit, typically measuring 468 pixels wide and 60 pixels tall (i.e. 468×60).

Information

Love them or hate them, banner ads are one of the dominant forms of advertising online. Due to the widespread acceptance of the standard 468×60 banner ad size, buyers can easily secure placements at most sites, and publishers can accept ads from most advertisers.

Banner ads were initially judged primarily on the basis of click-through rate (CTR). In the early days of the Web, click-through rates were generally much higher than they are now, perhaps due to the novelty factor. Other causes for the decline in CTR may include technical limitations, the awkward horizontal shape, poor banner design, an excessive percentage of run-of-network buys, and accumulated bad experiences of Web surfers.

“Banners never work” is a common refrain from the anti-banner crowd. Although click-through rates have gone consistently downward, the same can be said of banner ad prices. It is still possible to achieve a click-through rate many times the industry average by combining good placement and design. Combining below-average ad rates and above-average response rates can lead to an acceptable return on investment, just as in any other advertising medium.

Online Advertising

Online advertising is a form of advertising that uses the Internet and World Wide Web in order to deliver marketing messages and attract customers. Examples of online advertising include contextual ads on search engine results pages, banner ads, Rich Media Ads, Social network advertising, online classified advertising, advertising networks and e-mail marketing, including e-mail spam.

A major result of online advertising is information and content that is not limited by geography or time. The emerging area of interactive advertising presents fresh challenges for advertisers who have hitherto adopted an interruptive strategy.

Online video directories for brands are a good example of interactive advertising. These directories complement television advertising and allow the viewer to view the commercials of a number of brands. If the advertiser has opted for a response feature, the viewer may then choose to visit the brand’s website, or interact with the advertiser through other touch points such as email, chat or phone. Response to brand communication is instantaneous, and conversion to business is very high. This is because in contrast to conventional forms of interruptive advertising, the viewer has actually chosen to see the commercial.

Banner Ad Objectives

If you’ve spent any time surfing the Internet, you’ve seen more than your fair share of banner ads. These small rectangular advertisements appear on all sorts of Web pages and vary considerably in appearance and subject matter, but they all share a basic function: if you click on them, your Internet browser will take you to the advertiser’s Web site. But how do they work and why are they there?

Banner ads are usually relatively simple pieces of HTML code, but their presence on the Web and their importance in Internet-based business is immense.every publisher has its own objective which are as follows:-

Advertisers generally hope a banner ad will do one of two things. Ideally, a visitor to the publisher site, the Web site that posts the banner ad, will click on the banner ad and go to the advertiser’s Web site. In this case the banner ad has brought the advertiser a visitor they would not have had otherwise. The banner ad is a real success if the visitor not only comes to the site but also buys something. Failing a click-through, advertisers hope that a publisher site visitor will see the banner ad and will somehow register it in their heads. This could mean the visitor consciously notes the content of a banner ad and decides to visit the advertiser’s site at some time in the future, or it might mean that the visitor only peripherally picks up on the ad but is made aware of the advertiser’s product or service.

This second effect of advertising is known as branding. We’ve all experienced the effects of branding before. Say you see ads on television for Brand X glue all the time. The ads don’t seem to particularly affect you — you don’t leap from your couch to go buy glue — but down the road, when you’re at the store shopping for glue, they may affect the decision you make. If you don’t have any other reason to choose one type of glue over the others, you’ll probably choose the one you’re most familiar with, Brand X, even if you’re only familiar with it because of advertising.

So there are several ways a banner ad can be successful. Consequently, there are several ways advertisers measure banner ad success. Advertisers look at:

Clicks/Click-throughs: The number of visitors who click on the banner ad linking to the advertiser’s Web site. Publisher sites often sell banner ad space on a cost-per-click (CPC) basis.

Page views: Also called page impressions, this is the number of times a particular Web page has been requested from the server. Advertisers are interested in page views because they indicate the number of visitors who could have seen the banner ad. Although they don’t measure the effectiveness of a branding campaign, they do measure how many visitors were exposed to it. The most common way to sell banner ad space is cost per thousand impressions, or CPM (In roman numerals, M equals a thousand).

Click-through rate (CTR): This describes the ratio of page views to clicks. It is expressed as the percentage of total visitors to a particular page who actually clicked on the banner ad. The typical click-through-rate is something under 1 percent, and click-through rates significantly higher than that are very rare.

Cost per sale: This is the measure of how much advertising money is spent on making one sale. Advertisers use different means to calculate this, depending on the ad and the product or service. Many advertisers keep track of visitor activity using Internet cookies. This technology allows the site to combine shopping history with information about how the visitor originally came to the site.

Different measures are more important to different advertisers, but most advertisers consider all of these elements when judging the effectiveness of a banner ad.

TYPES OF ADS

  1. Traditional banner ads
  2. In-line ads
  3. Pop-up ads

Traditional banner ads:–


Banner ads are typically rectangular in shape, contain text, and are comprised of GIF or JPEG images that link to another page or site. Traditional banner ads are the most common and are popular because they load quickly, are easy to design and change, and are easily inserted into a Web page.

In-line ads:-


These ads are formatted in a column down the right- or left-hand side of a Web page. As with traditional banners, in-line ads can be a graphic and contain a link, or they can feature text only, with hyperlinks highlighted with�font colors and/or borders.

Pop-up ads:–


These ads are generated onscreen when you click a link or button on a Web page. After you click, you see a small, distinct window that opens over the page you are viewing. Some viewers find these ads intrusive because they have to click to remove them and return to the original page.

Ads in any of these categories might be static, animated, or “rich media.” A static ad does not change when you look at it ��it is a single graphical image. An animated ad is composed of several different images (usually GIFs) that, when shown in rapid succession, appear to be moving. A rich media ad makes use of audio or video, or involves some programming using Java, to deliver an enhanced level of interactivity.